2) Into Orbit

Posted on Updated on

After their previous rocket-related jollies, Kerbal space scientists figured that the next thing to do would be to get into orbit around Kerbin.

Flight 3 – Orbit attempt 1

So once again, Jebediah Kerman – the bravest and greenest of all kerbonaughts – crammed himself into a capsule on top of an even greater amount of fuel. This time, instead of going straight up, he would start to turn east (which according to forums is the best direction to get into orbit) after 10,000m and hope to build up enough speed and height to get into a stable orbit.

So how did it go? Well…

At first all went well, and Jeb began his turn at 10,000m
At first all went well, and Jeb began his turn at 10,000m
The fuel ran and out and we are pretty damn high! Surely we are in orbit now!?
The fuel ran and out and we are pretty damn high! Surely we are in orbit now!?
Hmm... that doesn't look like the flight path of an orbit to me...
Hmm… that doesn’t look like the flight path of an orbit to me…
Naa, I'm pretty sure thats not an orbit. Looks a bit dangerous.
Naa, I’m pretty sure thats not an orbit. Looks a bit dangerous.

Trial and error my friends, trial and error.

So guess what? MOAR ROCKETS!!

 

Flight 4 – Orbit attempt 2

This time I’m using solid fuel boosters to get some serious height before I start using my main engines and an additional little stage to push me into orbit once I’m high enough.

The boosters add a hell of a kick to the launch
The boosters add a hell of a kick to the launch

 

The main engines do the rest of the work
The main engines do the rest of the work
That's more like it!
That’s more like it!

Sucess! Jebediah completes a couple of orbits around Kerbin, the scientists would have been happy with one but Jeb is having far too much fun so they let him stay a bit.

I mean could you say no to that face?
I mean could you say no to that face?

Eventually however, he exhausts the capsule’s supply of slurm and uses the rest of his fuel to push the craft back towards Kerbin. He lands safely among the mountains, balanced precariously on his brand new landing legs.

"Time for a bit of climbing? Naa I should probably get back"
“Time for a bit of climbing? Naa I should probably get back”
Leave a Reply

